PDA

View Full Version : Why 400hz for aircraft power?

Paul Wilson
5th Apr 2004, 13:35
Don't know if Tech Log would be better, but I'll give it a shot here.

Given that AC electrical power in domestic/industrial settings is either 50 or 60hz, why do aircraft generators put out power at 400hz? Is it just a function of bolting a generator onto a something rotating very fast, and it was easier to go with 400hz and produce electrics to fit? Or is maybe something to do with harmonics from 50/60hz upsetting other aircraft systems?

Seems needlessly complexity, when "off the shelf" type motors etc. that use 50/60hz could have been used instead of redesign to use 400hz. Possibly I'm barking up the wrong tree and the AC power is all converted to DC before being used anyway, so it wouldn't matter what frequency was used.

Thanks
Paul

Bre901
5th Apr 2004, 14:21
IIRC (and, as an electrical engineer, I should, but it's been a long time then) the weight of a rotating electrical generator or motor is in inverse relationship with frequency, at fixed power.

Jet II
5th Apr 2004, 14:54
Bre901 got it about right - its all down to weight.

The 400 HZ frequency is used in aircraft systems primarily because the generators are much lighter in weight.

50/60 HZ was originally specified by the US government (I think) as a standard back in the days at the start of widespread use of electricity - its hasn't been changed since then due to the costs involved.

Oh and a lot of services use AC.

411A
5th Apr 2004, 16:02
Large aircraft years ago (talking DC4's, DC6's, Constellation's etc) are DC aircraft, ie; the main power source are a 28volt battery and 28volt DC engine-driven generators (not alternators).