PDA

View Full Version : Of Concern

bird of prey
5th Apr 2004, 10:07
When you apply for a vacancy - that is even before you are asked for interview, is that application confidential from your current employer? Infact shouldn't it be confidential full stop!

FWA NATCA
5th Apr 2004, 14:47
I would imagine that on your application you listed your current employer, common sense dictates that they would contact your employer and inquire about what type of employee you are.

Mike

bird of prey
5th Apr 2004, 15:57
FWA NATCA

So your current company is aware you may wish to move on even before you MAY or MAY NOT get an interview. Certainly they want to check you out but surely only after you have had an interview at least and IF they may be considering you for the position.

JimboUK2004
5th Apr 2004, 16:14
Holy Mackerel job hunter....

I am the man to answer this question, and aswer it truthfully I will...

I graduated last year, and I'm in my 2nd job already - to be frank I'm not happy one likkle bit. LUCKILY, I had applied for the NATS ATC traineeship last Summer while at uni, but, unfortunatley - its a loooong process for some, and I have only just found out that I've been accepted for the final interviews :p Mean while on planet earth, I need to earn a fecking living to keep the bank manager from snapping at my heals. Just so happens that I'm doing a 9-5 job sitting behind a desk, and I'm in my second one of those routine jobs in less than 6 months - I can't stand it!! So, that's why I'm prepared to take a holiday/sick day off to go to these recruitment events - and I'm certainly CERTAINLY willing to risk a potential employer ringing up! Its worth the risk - the greater the risk, the greater the outcome, i always look at it like that (obviously its not always like that, but its worth the risk to take the risk sometimes!!). I'm sure if the jobs your applying to is worth it, so just risk it.... I am - look at today for example!!! I took a sick day off using a desperate ex