PDA

View Full Version : A319/A320/A321 Pilot? Suggestions for ECAM Modification

rmcfarlane
12th Mar 2004, 22:53
I am a final year degree student working on a project to modify some of the current ECAM displays onboard current Airbus aircraft, in line with pilot preference and human factors.

Current ideas floating are a tail-wind speed indicator on the cruise page and to redesign the current gauges (i.e. the vibration indicator), but can be anything like changing font size or colours. If anyone has any ideas or gripes with the current system your suggestions on how to improve this already good product would be greatly recieved.

Also, any hints as to which information you personally like to monitor during the CRUISE segment of your flight would be a great help, weither you fly AIRBUS or not.

If you are a pilot replying, could you please give me your aircraft type along with on-type hours.

Thanks everyone in advance,

Robbie

leftseatview
18th Mar 2004, 03:43
Hi,
i have always felt that the Speed tape on the PFD(Primary Flt Display) needs to be turned around on its head.
the low speeds on top and hi speeds at the bottom.
That is more in "correct sense" with the side stick demand and its result on aircraft speed(when autothrust is out of the active range....as is invariably the case in a Go-around)
i strongly suspect this to be the final link in the chain of events that led to the "Gulf Air" A320 accident into Bahrain in 2000.
Having the hi speed on top of the tape results in the
red VMO/MMO warnings coming down from the top as the a/c approches an overspeed situation.
Following a 2 engine go-around if the a/c is not rotated up to the correct go-around attitude,an overspeed situation can develop very rapidly indeed.
in a low experience/high stress scenerio, the "gut-reaction" to the loud audio warning and red tape on top,might well be to push the stick further forward.(away from the red)