View Full Version : questions on stall recovery

AhDee
9th Feb 2004, 14:49
Hi all,
I am just a rookie on flying. just seen the aviation video stuffs, There is a clip showing a light weight aircraft spinning after stall. I have been told that to recover a stall, i have to pitch down, full throttle and pitch up. but in the clip, the PIC have his control colume all the way pulled out (pitching up) for the whole stall/spinning excercise, then the aircraft returned back to straight and level (rudder should have been used, right?). How come????:confused: :confused: :confused:

Link for the Clip
http://www.najaco.com/aviation/videos/videos.htm

keithl
9th Feb 2004, 18:27
Not sure how much detail you want, AD, so I'll keep it simple and you can ask for more if you need it.

You said "spinning after a stall". It will help if you think in terms of "spinning IN a stall". The spin will continue as long as the a/c is held in a stall - hence the stick held back for the whole of the spin demo. To recover (and this varies in some types), stop the yaw with opposite rudder and move the stick forward to unstall the wings.

Does that answer the question?

GGCC
9th Feb 2004, 18:42
I am just a rookie on flying.

Hello AhDee;

keithl has it right but i would suggest reading (if you havn't) the book "Stick and Rudder" by Wolfgang Langewiesche.

It's all about the basics..................available at Amazon.com

FlyingForFun
9th Feb 2004, 20:14
I can't disagree with the replies so far... but they don't seem to answer AhDee's question, which was specifically asking why, in the video, the pilot has the control column fully aft throughout the recovery.