PDA

View Full Version : PPL Theory - Distance

The African Dude
3rd Jan 2004, 22:09
Ladies & Gents

I really hope this isn't pushing the boundaries of realistic thinking...

Put very simply.. I'm a uni student, and I'd like to do the PPL Theory through distance learning, then build my 50 or so hours over a (not too extended) period of time after passing the exams.

Who for the love of Spartacus will be silly enough to let me do that?

Tell me tell me anything anything:uhoh:

Andy

SpeedBird 001
4th Jan 2004, 00:05
African Dude,

This sounds exactly like how I felt last year. I am an engineering student at Leeds. I completed my PPL last year after completing the groundschool away from the 'house'. Alot of people don't pay for extra PPL groundschool and aslong as you have the right material and some correct feedback you should be fine. I do suggest the Trevor Thom manuals over the A.F.E editions and I recommend the PPL Confusser by some crazy named guy Sueng or something!!!! Anyway......the PPL theory is perfectly accomplishable (is that a word?) alongside your uni course. The 50 or so hours are gonna be a touch more difficult with the weather at this time of year. Try to plan it so that you have no UNI and good weather (ie June) to do your skills test. This will give you a good week to round up all your revision and focuss on the test alone. I hope this has answered your question. Good Luck. P.S - There is a thread on here somewhere about the rules for the PPL theory to change. When I find it I'll forward the address.

Birdseed:ok:

The African Dude
4th Jan 2004, 03:10
Bird, you're a superstar.

Thanks very much.

Andy:D

RichardH
4th Jan 2004, 18:31
There is currently no legal JAA/CAA requirement for the PPL theory to be done in any formal manner, unlike the CPL/ATPL.
Though one day this informal arrangement might well end.

As Speedbird 001 states get the books - Thom - very good,
then self-study as time permits.