PDA

View Full Version : Procedural separation on departure

tmmorris
11th Nov 2003, 18:44
I have limited experience of this, but...

If I carry out a standard departure outside CAS (e.g. from Oxford, a BOTLI departure to the south) and get a clearance to depart IFR, standard BOTLI departure, climb & maintain 2500ft, &c., how much protection does this provide? Sometimes the clearance is from Brize, sometimes from Oxford Approach, and BOTLI is well to the south of Oxford (OX 9d, as I recall). If the clearance comes from Brize then I can get a radar service as soon as I am airborne, but if it's from Oxford, do I get anything meaningful from the procedural departure?

Would I be better departing VFR at low-ish level, then going IFR and climbing to get a radar service thereafter?

Tim

Legs11
11th Nov 2003, 21:34
Whilst an Oxford controller can answer this better, the basics are that a procedural clearance should give you standard NON-radar separation from all participating IFR aircraft. More than likely you'll also be given traffic information on any other known traffic.

What it doesn't give you is what they don't know about - all the other little f:mad:ers out there who haven't got the common sense to call:\

As for departing LL VFR and climbing - that's your choice:hmm:

Spitoon
12th Nov 2003, 00:58
I was thinking of the best way to answer your question and I thought I'd have a look at what a BOTLI departure is. I can't find any mention of it in the AIP - at least not in the Oxford section - so I'm inlined to think it's a bit of a red herring.