PDA

View Full Version : Datums

bmb7jiw
9th Nov 2003, 10:35
Hi,
You probably think this is a very basic question but.........

Im currently studying the Thom books for my PPL and Ive just been reading the mass/balance chapter. Can someone please explain exactly what a datum is?
I understand the balance theory (I think) but in Thom I havent seen it explain what a datum is exactly, and what the difference is between the datum and the pivot point.

Thanks a lot

James

BEagle
9th Nov 2003, 15:10
It's the theory of moments. Moments have to be taken about a reference point; each element (pilot, fuel, bags) can be thought of as mass acting through the point of application. The datum is just a convenient point for the manufacturer to measure the moment arm of each element from. Then the centre of mass is at a distance from the datum equal to the sum of the moments divided by the total mass.

I've had students who can't understand this - it seems that basic 'mechanics' isn't taught in any depth at school these days......

Saab Dastard
9th Nov 2003, 21:20
James,

I wrote some notes on this a while back - follow the link:

http://www.pprune.org/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=83489&highlight=weight+AND+balance

HTH

SD

bmb7jiw
9th Nov 2003, 21:45
Thanks a lot
I understand the theory. I had just never heard datum being used before. I assumed that the pivot point was the only thing used when calculating moments!

Thanks again

James

GRP
9th Nov 2003, 22:47