PDA

View Full Version : Flying with a gun on board

Monocock
10th Oct 2003, 02:29
Having just visited Jet Blast and reading a thread there, I wondered if anyone can shed any light on the following.

With the shooting season underway, what are the laws regarding carrying a shot gun in the aircraft? Cartridges (ammunition) obviously have to travel also and they are always boxed up and not loose.

I have been doing this for several years but wondered if it might be in any way illegal or if there are certain regulations that should be adhered to.

Surely when travelling up to Yorkshire/Scotland for a good weekends pheasant popping it must be safer to carry a gun in an aircraft for 2 hours as opposed to the boot of a car for 5 hours (with the associated risks of theft at motorway services etc).

Any constructive ideas would be very welcome.

wher2guv
10th Oct 2003, 06:20
Carriage of Weapons and Munitions of War (ANO article 59)

No weapon may be carried on boardan aircraft unless:-
the consent of the operator is obtained.
the weapon is unloaded.
the weapon is carried in a part of the aircraft not accessible to pax

Munitions of war (including weapons, ammunition, explosives or noxious substances) shall not be carried without the written permission of the CAA and then only in accordance with any conditions relating thereto.

hope it helps

stiknruda
10th Oct 2003, 18:10
Ah Monocock - I have been doing it regularly for years, too!

My William Evans,slip, wellies, hip flask and cartridge bag will all fit nicely into the Pitts!

I must confess that the legality of it never crossed my mind as I see it is exactly the same as throwing them in the boot of the car.

Cock birds only!

Stik

FlyingForFun
10th Oct 2003, 18:17