Go Back  PPRuNe Forums > Misc. Forums > Airlines, Airports & Routes
Reload this Page >

bmi - To Be Resurrected?

Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Airlines, Airports & Routes Topics about airports, routes and airline business.

bmi - To Be Resurrected?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 28th September 2023 | 16:54
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Aviation Qualifications: SLF
Posts: 739
Likes: 258
From: Midlands
bmi - To Be Resurrected?

BMI British Midland (jetbmi.co.uk)

EVELYN BUSINESS SERVICES LIMITED overview - Find and update company information - GOV.UK (company-information.service.gov.uk)
jethro15 is online now  
Reply
Old 28th September 2023 | 17:00
  #2 (permalink)  
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
From: At the bar
Hmmm... does that website not look like the one that popped up for Monarch, and before that, Flybe #2? We all know how they went.
ImPlaneCrazy is offline  
Reply
Old 28th September 2023 | 17:12
  #3 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
From: Nantgarw
Or the company has no knowledge that their name is being used on a website?
southamptonavgeek is offline  
Reply
Old 28th September 2023 | 17:16
  #4 (permalink)  
Community Builder
Community Influencer
100 Countries Visited
5 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 1,409
Likes: 330
From: Southampton
I can't see this going anywhere 😂

British Airways purchased BMI in 2012, wouldn't the airline have the legitimate rights for the use of the name of the airline if it was to be reused?

The same applies with British Caledonian Airways I should imagine.

If I was to resurrect a previous British airline it would be BUA British United Airways. BCAL British Caledonian Airways being my all time favourite airline. But I think BUA British United Airways is a great name for an airline especially if it had an updated version of the former BMI livery.
Sotonsean is offline  
Reply
Old 28th September 2023 | 17:40
  #5 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Aviation Qualifications: SLF
Posts: 739
Likes: 258
From: Midlands
I have just been advised that this is indeed false. The website appeared earlier this week with a different company number of 14890271.

As of this afternoon, Evelyn Business Services and its lawyers are aware of this fake website, which, as has been pointed out, is very similar to the recent Monarch attempt. They are not resurrecting bmi.
jethro15 is online now  
Reply
Old 28th September 2023 | 17:44
  #6 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
From: Nantgarw
No surprises then. Company 14890271 is owned by a Mr Jaswinder Rekhi of India, apparently 43 years old.
southamptonavgeek is offline  
Reply
Old 28th September 2023 | 17:54
  #7 (permalink)  
Community Builder
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 2,093
From: Reading, UK
Setting up a website is a lot easier than actually making anything happen.
DaveReidUK is online now  
Reply
Old 28th September 2023 | 18:59
  #8 (permalink)  
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,150
Likes: 49
From: BMA
Originally Posted by Sotonsean
I can't see this going anywhere 😂

British Airways purchased BMI in 2012, wouldn't the airline have the legitimate rights for the use of the name of the airline if it was to be reused?

The same applies with British Caledonian Airways I should imagine.

If I was to resurrect a previous British airline it would be BUA British United Airways. BCAL British Caledonian Airways being my all time favourite airline. But I think BUA British United Airways is a great name for an airline especially if it had an updated version of the former BMI livery.
Wouldn't the rights be with Loganair's parent or whoever bought it from the remains of Bmi Regional? They rebranded to flybmi with the same logo before they went bust so must have had permission from somewhere.
BA318 is offline  
Reply
Old 28th September 2023 | 19:36
  #9 (permalink)  
Community Builder
Community Influencer
100 Countries Visited
5 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 1,409
Likes: 330
From: Southampton
Originally Posted by BA318
Wouldn't the rights be with Loganair's parent or whoever bought it from the remains of Bmi Regional? They rebranded to flybmi with the same logo before they went bust so must have had permission from somewhere.
Your absolutely correct, to be honest I had completely overlooked BMI Regional 🫢

It wasn't that long ago, but what with everything that's gone on since their demise in February 2019 it certainly seems ages ago.
Sotonsean is offline  
Reply
Old 29th September 2023 | 07:52
  #10 (permalink)  
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 717
Likes: 44
From: In the real world.
Let's stop giving these idiots the publicity they so obviously crave or they are going to do this with every defunct airline.
Jerbourg is offline  
Reply
Old 29th September 2023 | 09:06
  #11 (permalink)  
USER0005
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hopefully the rightful owners of the trademarks and logo will make an example of this prat, and hit him in the wallet.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.