PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Graphics card, video card, need to upgrade...
Old 14th Nov 2017, 07:33
jimjim1

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Firstly - Given your reported use of the computer I strongly doubt that replacing the video card will help - unless you just happen to have some dire video driver issue at present that the new card and possibly software makes go away.

I work with computers but I am not a desktop expert rather a Network Engineer and I have done a bit of pre-windows stylee programming.

From my personal experience a windows installation just seems to slow down over time. Eventually drastically. The recommended solution by the desktop geeks seems to be a fresh windows installation every year or so. To me as a user this is completely unacceptable - it turns out that I would rather suffer the slowness.

I have tried every recommended "fix" (short of re-installing) under the sun and nothing seemed to help. Then one day my next door neighbour who I knew to be suffering from crawling PC syndrome (TM), which I couldn't fix, called me for help. His user profile was broken and the machine refused to log him on.

I was able to create a new user for him and to move all of the files over. The shock was that the old slow windows installation was completely rejuvenated. PrestoChangoSelector all cured.

I have subsequently carried out the process on a (very) few other PCs with fabulous results.

To avoid potential issues if you have to do this ALWAYS install any software for "All Users".

I have also recently had to disable automatic windows updates due to a performance issue that I could not fix. Since it was a pretty good going Notebook - i5, 6G ram and ssd I think that the user experience was still OK but the CPU was permanently high which made the fan run and made my lap hot.

I think it worth checking the integrity of the operating system with

chkdsk (/f with heart in mouth if errors reported)