PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - CTC McAlpine/easyJet/JMC Sponsorship Selection
Old 9th Sep 2003, 06:26
sally at pprune

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Pennyworth

I applied to the scheme as I recognised it to be the best option for me. I got to the final stage of selection but was unsuccessful. I’m not an expert on the intricacies of the scheme, but this is my perspective:

The figure quoted of £100,000 includes allowances, insurance, additional training, airfares, a type rating, etc, etc, etc. I have researched self-funded training in considerable depth – I am now part way through my own. I have no doubt that the figure is accurate. If you have researched what is in the CTC McAlpine Scheme (over 250 hours of training, more than ½ of which is multi-engine + the type rating + the ‘extras’ like cars, and allowances and……), you would not be comparing it with £30K training, which is theoretically possible, but unrealistic but for a few (goldenballs, living at home, PPL holders) to achieve. There is also this little matter of a job……