PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - The perpetual 'Am I too old?' thread
View Single Post
Old 22nd Aug 2017, 00:35
MotoRinzler

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Redsnail & Council Van. Understood, and thank you for the time to reply.. both of you. I'd like to tease out a few thoughts on a few points you both raise if I may... provoke discussion and see if any contrasting views come out so I can get an idea of the general concesus.

My current job is safety critical. Public facing. I work as a crew of two and spend 8 to 12hrs in a vehicle with a work partner. The same one for 6 years with the odd change due to leave etc. I can relate to the concept of having to (or not wanting to) spend hrs on end with 'some'.

Although not aviation. The role has tasks where talk is minimal, yet communication is key. Not as formal as the flight deck, but I do very much grasp the concept of needing to be cooperative (but not blindly following), being clear and direct (yet not overpowering or agressive), when to discuss, debate, debrief and explore ideas (without being argumentative). When to support and when to lead. These, of course, are all very subjective... and I would say situational dependent.

Each attribute both of you have depicted as a possible negative, I could give you two positives for each. I'm not questioning if what you say is correct as I am here asking for advice; so It would be a little strange for me to say it's not correct.

For example. The idea that the self-declaration of flexible suddenly becomes inflexible once a job has been taken. I have to concede that one could indeed simply lie about the degree of flexibility that is actually available and the true degree of willingness. Equally the employer can do the same. Both could simply not 'shoot themselves in the foot' unless asked a direct question. Not my style... I'd rather be open, and expect the same.