PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Virgin Australia Cadet program
View Single Post
Old 12th Jun 2017, 13:21
DogDaysAreOver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Coopmeup
Well, I'd like to know what their "non-specified" criteria is!! Just got my rejection email. I applied for ab-initio...

So, I must be too old or too male. Either way seems like discrimination to me.

...yes, I'm feeling a little sandy.
I am female. I have a degree in aviation, a respectable number of flying hours for a recreational flier, and overseas experience in flight operations.

I applied for Virgin's inaugural program back in 2012 and subsequently got to the final round. I knew of one of the young women who got in and she performed excellently in the group work exercises and public speaking. I have no doubt she performed well in the other stages too.

However, I didn't progress past the first stage the following year. To say I didn't have "it" would be at odds to my performance the year prior. After some thought, I came to the conclusion that I had not shown self improvement during the time that had elapsed. However (and perhaps more importantly) there didn't seem to be any sort of prejudice given my gender or past performance - I had to prove myself just like everyone else.

At the time I was with the military (and later joined a paramilitary company). It was here that I spent my time reflecting upon the skills that a pilot needs, and then went about developing said skills. These included (the list is no way exhaustive): strong communication skills, the ability to work in a team, able to work under pressure, able to take criticism on board, ability to self reflect/assess, etc. I deliberately picked a career path within the organisations so I could get the exposure and challenges that I need to grow. I also spoke extensively to aviation experts and enthusiastists to get their inputs, opinions, etc.