PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - The imminent death of US aviation
View Single Post
Old 9th May 2017, 22:36
boofhead

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I guess that the articles published by trade magazines and online reporting concerning the shortage are not in your reading list, nor do you actively fly as a CFI, where you will see very few applicants for the commercial certificate, much less the ATP compared to several years ago, and you will not have read the advertisements for pilots from the regional carriers offering huge salaries and bonuses, including offers of a 2 day guaranteed course to pass the ATP written, nor would you have been working or supervising at a Part 135 or 91 operation where there are few, if any, suitable applicants for the many vacant positions, nor talked to any of the small airport managers in the country who have had to shut the doors of their terminals because the number of flights -per - day has dropped below the level needed for them to pay the salaries and remain open, nor worked as a CFI and had only two students per week despite being at the school with your several buddies who also have had nothing to do.

Never mind, you are doing OK and able to take advantage of the fabulous offers of employment at huge salaries. If there are no pilots coming into the industry to replace you and the others who have moved up, what is it to you? If they shutter more airports, close more flight training schools and bankrupt more regional carriers, that is not your affair, right? Why should you care one whit so long as your salary is paid on time?