PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - My convoluted route to ATPL?
View Single Post
Old 9th Apr 2017, 13:30
4535jacks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I am an officer and will retire as a major. Luckily I am on the old pension which means I can retire with a pension at 37 (5 years time) but due to all the cuts in the pension scheme I won't get that much each year so it makes sense to do three more years which has a significant effect on my pension salary and will help cushion the blow of the initial reduction in salary that will come with a career choice. It will also mean that I will have an income even I am unemployed for a while - plus it will boost my salary for the rest of my life so worth hanging on for. So instead I will leave on my 40th birthday hopefully with a fATPL in my hand and circa 750hrs. I am hoping that being 40 rather than 37 won't hinder me too much when applying for a FO position as I will still have 25years work left in me!

I don't plan on getting my CPL, ME, MEIR and MCC until my last 3 years so I am not paying for the revals and I can use resettlement grants to fund it with no debts. I do however want to furnish my PPL with as many ratings as possible so I can gain additional experience (such as IFR and aeros) but also to reduce the cost of the ATPL courses hence my desire to do an SEIR soon.