PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Peanut Alergies and Flying
View Single Post
Old 6th Feb 2017, 10:20
Binners93

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi Sjburton,

How strange to find someone else in an almost identical situation to myself as we speak. I am at a very similar stage of investigation as yourself so hope that my story may be of some help. In either case, if you are happy to I would be very interested in contacting you personally regarding this?

I am a private pilot who was flying on an unrestricted Class 2 medical and have been doing so uneventfully for the past 5 years. It only came to light when applying for an initial Class 1 that having this allergy may be a problem.

My 'diagnosis' was made in Eastbourne District General after I ‘puffed up’ as a very young child when given a peanut butter sandwich. My parents were advised of a moderate allergy to peanuts and subsequently given EpiPens to prevent a possible anaphylaxis situation in later life.
I have been fortunate enough for the past 20 years to have never required the use of these pens, though I feel this may be more due to a possible misdiagnosis/change of circumstances surrounding my severity. I have mistakably eaten Satay Chicken (without knowing what Satay was), Hazelnuts (as part of a noodle snack) and have always been able to comfortably eat walnuts without issue as well as almond products - who knew about Bakewells...

Due to this, 5 years ago I requested a blood test to confirm my allergy which came back positive but was advised the test only confirmed sensitivity, not the resultant reaction. I also have mild Eczema which I have been told can sometimes elevate the blood test result. This blood test unfortunately has provided more confusion than guidance due to a conflict of two separate food mixes used to test for a reaction, both containing peanuts and both providing different results.