PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - An old pilot returns to the fold. A ramble from the past
Old 20th Dec 2016, 15:23
ElderlyGent

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ElderlyGent and MY SECOND FIRST SOLO yes that's right.

Perhaps I should shorten my moniker to E.G

The years had moved on, the hands of time circling the clock had now let me get the business running at an acceptable rate of profit, so this let the flying virus stir out of hibernation and start twitching the memory neurons (if that's the right word).

It is now 1974 and spring is in the air, and I just want to spring into the air myself. So off I trot to the local flying club,
This time round I have to buy those necessary bits. The chart, the circular slide rule (Computer) and books on everythig pertaining to the PPL sylabus.
But let's not get too far ahead. The 'ab initio' flight is calling. The instructor and I walk out to a Cssna 150. After a quick walk round we climb aboard, This is my first time in a tricycle undercart plane. My, but the view forward is impressive after the memories of a tail dragger. I can see where I am going.
As I am more of a passenger this time I sit and listen to what he is both saying and doing. Gosh! will I rmember all this. The radio crackles with the clearance. You are cleared to leave the zone at such and such a point, not above 1500 feet, QNH this and QFE that.

We taxi along and arive at the holding point. More checks then the 'cleared to take off' . Pull onto the runway and off we go.

'Right' the instructor says, 'Hands on the yoke and just follow me through'. I do and feel the slight vibration, This thing is alive. The ground drops away and we are flying.