PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Badges and Insignia
View Single Post
Old 29th Nov 2016, 14:46
PDR1

Received 54 Likes on 29 Posts
Originally Posted by Step Turn
Some people in our society work hard to earn a qualification, and I believe that they have the right to claim that qualification (and identity). Society, who makes available that qualification, has the responsibility to honour those who have earned the qualification, and respect the use of the identity.

There is no point in having standards for doctors, engineers, lawyers, ship's captains, military personnel, police, firefighters and pilots, among many qualifications, if society is not going to respect the identity of a person so qualified. If you have earned the right to identify yourself as qualified as whatever, identify yourself if you wish. Society, respect that, and defend it.

I've been a pilot for 40 years. I nearly never wear anything which identifies me as a pilot - not important to society. I've been a firefighter for 25 years. I nearly always am wearing something which identifies me as a firefighter - it works well when I arrive to a call to service, people know who I am. I am offended when a person wears something which identifies them as a firefighter (or police, military, etc.), when doing so could cause the public to think they are someone they are not.

Society expects to be defended/protected/assisted by people who have earned a qualification to do so. Society expect the people providing these identified services to meet society's standard for qualification. The least society can do in return is to defend their right to their identity!