PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - New medical rules for NPPL/PPL
View Single Post
Old 17th Oct 2016, 01:07
abgd

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
I don't know whether exercise tests have been mandated for class 1 medicals - not an AME. I gather they're falling out of favour in general medicine now that tests such as angiography and perfusion scanning are considered safer and more informative.

I have no expert knowledge regarding any of these issues. But a quick 'Google Scholar' will show up a number of links suggesting they're significant issues. I haven't digested the papers in sufficient detail to fully appraise them, and don't have the time to do so. On the other hand, it's not so hard to get some kind of an overview of the context in which aviation medicals are justified.

Going back to the headings I used:

1) Suicides - a difficult thing to assess for multiple reasons such as a frequent reluctance amongst coroners to recognise suicide where there is any doubt and the ultimate unknowability of what was going through somebody's mind prior to an accident. If they haven't written a note, it's hard to know for certain.

Analysis of NTSB Aircraft-Assisted Pilot Suicides: 1982?2014 - Politano - 2015 - Suicide and Life-Threatening Behavior - Wiley Online Library identifies 51 pilot suicides 1982 to 2014 but there are almost certainly likely to be a lot more.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25199127

Estimated the rate of pilot suicide at 0.33%. Again, I'd wager that the true rate will be considerably higher.

2) Sudden incapacitation

https://crashstats.nhtsa.dot.gov/Api...ication/811219

states that 84% of people in passenger vehicle crashes who were suddenly incapacitated (e.g. faints, hypoglycemia) had suffered previous episodes. That would imply that similar accidents are by and large preventable.