PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - LIPS / API CLAIM DENIED
View Single Post
Old 17th Aug 2016, 17:45
Dune

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sorry but there are 2 threads running on this subject so I posted on both.

I have no knowledge of this individual’s situation but having read through this thread it is obvious there may some misconception as to how such a disability plan operates. Also I am no longer flying or employed by Emirates (and am not a lawyer) so take the below in this context.

I joined LIPS very early in its existence. My understanding (incorrect at the time) was if I were to lose my GCAA license due to illness/disability I would receive 3 years basic salary from Emirates (paid immediately) and then 3 years later I would begin to receive LIPS coverage paid monthly. This immediate 3 year payout by Emirates would carry me through until I was able to find employment in another non-flying field and the ongoing LIPS payments would supplement my loss of income working in my alternative field. It was only years later I learned the LIPS payouts would begin immediately upon confirmation of illness/disability and not following a 3 year delay (which I thought to be somewhat generous).

I was also fairly confident if I had a very “cut-and-dry” disability (loss of limb, cancer, extensive heart disease, loss of sight, etc.) I would receive my benefits as long as I was never again able to hold a commercial pilots medical. As such, I understood this to be a “catastrophic” type of medical insurance and treated it accordingly. I was also aware I would be required to prove my ongoing disability (at the discretion of LIPS at their expense) and would lose my claim should my medical condition improve to such an extent I would be able to hold a commercial medical in my home country. I assume this is still the case?