PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Helicopter CPL
Thread: Helicopter CPL
View Single Post
Old 21st Jul 2016, 22:09
muermel

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Montjuic
@muermel

I have over 10 years experience in government business consulting acquiring European Uunion funding for companies in many different countries so this is a total career change.

- Bachelor Masters degrees in economics, European Integration

- Native English speaker fluent in Spanish, Catalan and French

Massive general interest in aviation attracted to the idea of being a heli pilot due to its flexibility workwise, fascination with the machine etc more than by planes

So a wider role apart from flying on the business sales end of things I would be well able for also - I am quite flexible.

Lucky you getting an EC120 rating paid for. Congrats - bonded how does that work?
@Montjuic
So that's good news that you have some marketable skills apart from eventuallly being able to fly a helicopter, good :-) Also your language skills will open some doors or marktets for you. I wish I had your language skills, I'd be in South America or Africa for a couple of years.

If you can keep the "normal" job while doing the training and maybe starting to work for a local company, flying the R44 on local tours or something like that on the weekends, that might work. Problem is you're not building many hours, lousy pay and long hours for lousy pay :-) Your family and you WILL suffer for some time and you don't know how long that time will be.

The thing is that I was prepared to leave my girlfriend of 3,5 years behind and brake up with her (which I did!), move abroad if I had to (didn't have to do that!), give up a lot of things to get that first job (which I did and still do!). You will be competing with people who are willing to give up A LOT OF THINGS (like me) to get that important first job and there's no guarenty that it will happen within a year, or two or even three.......