PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - EC225 crash near Bergen, Norway April 2016
Old 10th Jun 2016, 20:22
Concentric

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This is my first posting on this forum, having followed it for several years and learned a lot from some very knowledgeable folks. Since I am an engineer and SLF and not a professional pilot I have been reluctant in the past to comment, but for the subject of this thread I believe there was nothing that pilots could have, or should have, done to prevent the crash. It was clearly a failure of engineering somewhere along the line whether that was design, manufacturing, inspection, materials, maintenance or assembly.

I will not be the only member to have their personal theory as to how the accident occurred but I will make the following simple observations and ask a few questions.

Firstly, with reference to the AIBN Preliminary Report dated 27/5/16, Figure 4 shows the broken upper end of the front suspension bar which has clearly fractured in a ductile manner from a gross tensile overload, evidenced by the elongation of the male eye. Any suggestion that it was not properly pinned at either end or that the lower connecting lug bolts were incorrectly torqued contradicts the evidence. The bar must in fact have been very well restrained and under a tensile force much greater than its design load before it failed in this manner, assuming it was made of the correct material. For anything not designed to, other than the pins and bolts, to have transmitted this force is, frankly, far-fetched. For the front bar at least, it would also appear that the direction of loading was close to its normal arrangement as the pin is not bent and failure was across minimum tensile section.