View Single Post
Old 13th Mar 2016, 08:03
  #16 (permalink)  
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: A little south of the "Black Sheep" brewery
Posts: 372
Originally Posted by k3k3
A foreign national (except Irish citizens) may not vote in general elections.
In General Elections (the 'British' elections quoted by cavorting?), British citizens and British residents who are citizens of Ireland, Cyprus and Malta and residents from British Overseas Territories and British Crown Dependencies can vote, as well as British residents from the following Commonwealth countries:

Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, The Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunel Darussalam, Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Dominica, Fiji Islands, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St. Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

In addition to that in Local Elections (the 'English' elections quoted by cavorting?) British residents from those few extra EU countries can vote.

So, not quite correct that
A foreign national (except Irish citizens) may not vote in general elections.
My suggestion is that if you are not in any of those lists above and you are a British resident, then it is a privilege that you are enjoying being here and you should be quite happy to accept your Council Tax and all its 'precepts' as part of that privilege!

And if anybody paid proper attention, you would have noticed that the 'Adult Social Care' precept was included in the last Autumn Statement, Autumn Statement: Local authorities allowed to increase council tax by two per cent to spend on adult social care | UK Politics | News | The Independent, so should come as no surprise.
Trossie is offline