PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - I guess I am...
Thread: I guess I am...
View Single Post
Old 16th Jan 2016, 12:32
tecman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
FBW, being in a similar game to your f-i-l, while also earning a living in the "real" engineering world and having a treasured life as a pilot, I sometimes think about the different requirements for a successful career in each area. I certainly agree that having to teach a subject sharpens the wits and, when there's fundamental research involved, an open mind on the part of all involved is a pre-requisite for success. Anything that gets in the way of acquisition of knowledge will get the attention of a serious teacher or advisor; one of many impediments is an excessively didactic approach (in the pejorative meaning) on the part of a senior person or organization.

What is clear to me is that, despite what practitioners of any one vocation or profession may think, it really is a case of horses for courses - no-one has all the answers, and we often learn from listening to the questions and insights of others. As this is a conversational forum, let me throw correctness to the wind and observe that in my experience professional pilots hone a regimented and rule-driven approach to aviation and often, I observe, to life in general. This tends to keep us all, as pilots or passengers, alive. I believe that it behoves those of us with careers primarily outside aviation to strive for discipline and professionalism in our flying and, as a small part of that exercise, I enjoy reading and exchanging thoughts on flying with others, in a variety of forums. In doing that, I accept that the material exchanged is usually going to anecdotal and incomplete and, with that in mind, I take the good with the bad and keep the salt cellar at close hand.