PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Brough Airfield
Thread: Brough Airfield
View Single Post
Old 27th Sep 2015, 23:42
SteveRudd

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brough Memories

Hello - I am a newbie so please be gentle.

I joined because I found this thread in response to a google search concerning some research about a book I'm working on.

I lived in Brough from 1965 when we moved there from East Hull until 1973 when I went to University. My dad was a fitter at Blackburns and worked night shifts at Brough and HOSM (the satellite site)

When he first started, they were working on things like the Beverley, by the time he retired, he was working on the Harrier and on Airbus Wings. I remember particularly (though I was living away by then) the hoohah in 1982 when the Falklands blew up and everything went totally ****nastic with them working on Harriers 24/7.

Anyway, I remember Brough airfield. When I was a kid I used to sit on the end of the slipway (now demolished) where Blackburns used to launch the seaplanes onto the Humber to test them in the 1930s. My Mum worked ion the Flying School on Brough Airfield and that's how she met my Dad. Both Mum and Dad used to get taken up for "flips" in various aircraft, including the Beverley and a Dragon Rapide which they used to have at Brough. One day, my Mum got taken up in the Dragon Rapide and the pilot decided to "buzz" Welton church tower. When she got home that night (she lived in Welton) my Granny said to her, "Eeh, you should have been here today, some bloody fool in an aeroplane nearly flew into t'church tower". My mother replied "I know. I was in the aeroplane".