PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - unreliable airspeed jet transport aircraft
Old 11th Apr 2015, 01:10
DozyWannabe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by flyingchanges
...good to know approximate thrust lever angles (sorry Airbus pilots)...
I'm a little confused by that - As I understand it, if autothrust is disengaged the FBW Airbus thrust levers work the "old-fashioned" way - I think the only difference between TLs on FBW Airbii and other types is that the Airbus A/THR doesn't physically move the TLs to match its settings, and other types' autothrottles do.

@sudden twang:
(Caveat : I'm a software engineer, not a professional pilot - but I've been aviation-mad from the crib, and have been around this forum long enough to pick up a few things. Apologies if this becomes a mini-essay, but I hope you'll find it interesting... )

So - Unreliable airspeed (or UAS). If I've understood things correctly from what I've read and been told over the years it's undoubtedly a potentially hazardous condition, but if handled correctly it's more of an annoyance than a major threat. If it occurs in-flight, the piloting mantra "Aviate, Navigate, Communicate" (in that order) is key - before doing anything else (including diagnosing the problem), you have to make sure your flightpath is relatively stable. In the case of the Airbus FBW types, the flight data computers will detect a discrepancy in airspeed readings and automatically disconnect autopilot.