PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Cowl flaps in hot climate
View Single Post
Old 2nd Apr 2015, 06:21
Obidiah

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
No worries Bob.

Not sure where your oil temp is picked off from but suffice to say that sudden jump from an oil temp of 77 to 120 at T.O. is likely an indication that your vernatherm is doing its thing and recirculating oil and bypassing the cooler. I would not think the pick off is at the coldest point it is usually at the end point of its journey through the working internals.

For those wondering what this strange worded device the vernatherm is, it essentially a thermostat for your oil circulation system that regulates the flow through the oil cooler. I can't give you much more than that as I am not a mechanic.

Bob you mentioned no real airflow through the engine when the cowl flaps are closed on the ground. I disagree there is still considerable airflow just not enough for proper cooling in most normal conditions on the ground. My personal observation on some types, Shrike is one I recall is that with the cowl flap open on a frosty morning the oil temp can take an age to get to the minimum for take off (75f from memory).

My personal technique on the Shrike was close them up tight for the first 1 or 2 minutes then open to half after that and full open 1 or 2 minutes later. But this is for sub zero OAT starts. All other times open before start, that way I can hear their little electric motors running and get a feel on how they're doing out there. They have a tough life and get little to no attention, cowls were always parked closed after shutdown.

But closed can lead to issues during the warm up if not done with some thought and understanding.