PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - My chances for a U.S Major with a Green Card
Old 31st Mar 2015, 16:51
jackcarls0n

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
@foswillruletheworld

Thought I'd share some info. I am a permanent resident and have a green card and been working in USA for a regional carrier for a year now.

First, the requirements on the website of airlines like Delta, United and American are not the requirements that will get you an interview. They are many things that they look for besides meeting the minimum requirement- reference letters from pilots of their own company, meeting recruiters at job fairs, and competitiveness with other applicants, contacts you have etc.

Being a green card holder doesn't make it difficult but makes it more challenging to get hired. Because you need a passport without any restriction on travel. But that shouldn't be a problem with Turkish passport.

And on an average people who get hired at major airlines are Military, Air Force and Navy pilots who have 1500 or more hours. If you have civilian experience you can be looking at anywhere from 5000-10,000 hrs of total time. Average of about 6500 hours.

Having wide body experience doesn't make much of a difference. The pilot who has 6000 hrs on a CRJ/ERJ has similar chances as guys with experience on 777 with similar hours. Met a guy who got hired at delta recently. He flew regional airline for 5 years then another 5-6 years at emirates on 777 and finally got a call for interview. He had 7-8000 hrs I believe. And you need 1000 hrs pic on multi engine jet for a civilian pilot. Some FO do get hired without PIC time but that's rare and ones who have great connections with the company.