PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Opportunities, Challenges, and Limits of Automation in Aircraft
Old 1st Jan 2015, 20:14
einhverfr

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Opportunities, Challenges, and Limits of Automation in Aircraft

Because I suspect this will come up frequently I figured the topic of automation of aircraft and the limits of such might deserve its own post. I am not a pilot. I am a systems/software engineer with a very strong interest in aerodynamics and have been following to a very large extent the field of vehicular automation and how, sometimes, reliance on automation can lead to impaired situational awareness and tragedy. This is not just an issue with aircraft but with trains, cruise ships, and now even with cars. The field affects, frankly everybody, and it is not one in the case of aircraft where the techies are going to just solve the problems. This is going to require a lot of feedback and thinking from everyone in the field.

This is not an Airbus vs Boeing flame. There are advantages and disadvantages to both designs, and significant flaws in both approaches. This field is still in its infancy. I will probably talk about Airbus more than Boeing here, but I think you will see it doesn't go all one way.

There is also no doubt that automation in some areas has made travel in all modes safer. However, because this is usually approached incrementally, the operator/automation interface is not considered from the start but instead considered only in addition to the current control interface or a slightly modified version of it. The advantage here is familiarity. The disadvantage is that the coupling often happens on suboptimal levels.