PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Global Aviation Magazine : 60 Years of the Hercules
Old 5th Dec 2014, 18:50
smujsmith

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The most amusing event in my first visit to Barbados followed a similar, but not so well funded, walkabout as Dougie M. One morning after breakfast, and with a serviceable Albert and a crew rest day, the whole crew decided to wander down the beach from the Grand, where it was reported ( by our Captain) that there was a beach shack that did great barbecued burgers and beer lunches. Off we trotted, burned the calories and eventually found the recommended establishment. Lunch was, exactly as our Captain had described, smashing, and well worth the walk, a change for him, most of his recommendations usually incorporated Guinness as part of the repertoire (sorry if this might lead to any ID ideas skipper). Anyway, the walk back was underway, and the usual banter was underway, when a local chap (rasta?) jumped out of a bush. I'm not very good at a Barbudian accent, particularly when typing on an iPad, so please try and imagine the conversation.

" Hi guys, how yo doing ? How would you'll you like to do a tour of de island, all the local sites, churches and points of interest" ?

Skipper : "No thanks mate, we just want to walk along the beach back to the hotel".

This was repeated at least twice, before our Captain offered some profanity toward the rasta chap, suggesting he "go away fornicating".

To which the chap made his final pitch saying " no problem guys, y'all have a nice day, and would any of you like some wacky baccy"?

No one took him up on his final offer, no surprise there, but it was a source for much humour for the rest of the detachment.