PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - What does it take to be a Bush Pilot?
View Single Post
Old 23rd Oct 2014, 22:31
Journey Man

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1.) What costs are involved and is it possible to make any money to survive from it?
2.) Has anyone done it? could you please tell me about your experiences?
3.) does it help to get into commercial?
4.) is it who you know and whether you have rich parents, or can a standard young adventurous but determined individual do it?
5.) Grades! i am currently studying at 6form, but have never excelled in education, i have 8 GCSE'S and a C in english and maths ( not science ) and am struggling through A levels... ?
5.) any others things you would recommend!
I'll try to answer a few of your questions, and my answers will be based on Africa. For other areas, someone else can chime in.

1) Costs. Aside from your licence, which if you're European I would recommend that you get an EASA licence and convert it to whichever country you end up working in, other costs will be living costs to cover approximately six months in back packer joints and a return ticket somewhere. Salaries are usually very low. I stripped my savings supplementing my income for a large portion of the time I was there. Living is fairly cheap, but you won't be saving much.

2) Yes. I spent six years in Africa, five and a half years working as a charter pilot. Ditch the 'bush' bit, it's just pilot or charter pilot.