PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - The perpetual 'Am I too old?' thread
View Single Post
Old 22nd Oct 2014, 22:00
jack schidt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A commercial career in later life.

Hello gentlemen.

I have been reading through the thread and I can completely understand the desire you all have to live your dreams and fly for reward. I have been flying for reward for 28 years now and I would like to tell you the following story.

A PPL student in a Warrior sees a Seneca twin taxiing out and thinks to himself, "wow, one day I really want to get onto twins, that's so cool". The Seneca pilot gets to the threshold and prepares for departure when he/she sees a Kingair turbine twin coming in to touchdown and whispers under a quiet breath "that's the life on turbines, I can't wait".

Previously the Kingair pilot who saw the SAAB 340 whos pilot had seen the 737 and all had aspirations about flying the next best thing. The 737 crew had spoken to each other about their desire to fly the widebody 747 they had seen coming into land from a long haul flight after that crew completed a 15hour flight. That previous night, the 747 crew had seen the space shuttle go over (yes you could see it with the naked eye) and said,"now that is the ultimate flying job, wow'!!

The commander and pilot on the shuttle, at the time the 747 crew spotted them, was looking down to earth where the dawn was breaking through a good telescope and saw a PPL student taxiing out in a Warrior. The shuttle pilot said out loud, "one day I really wan to get back to flying because that is real without doubt flying"