PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - The Empire Strikes Back! on Colour Defective Pilots
Old 3rd Jul 2014, 13:55
dubbleyew eight

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
altough I am a pilot (with no colour deficits) I come at this problem from the industrial control systems environment.
I cannot believe the utter stupidity of the protagonists who push the CVD barrow.

if the colours are a problem then CHANGE THE COLOURS.

in the industrial control systems environment there is quite some history to colour perception problems.

the original instrumentation standard from back in the days of pneumatically controlled systems was that a running machine displayed a red indicator atop it to indicate that it was running and dangerous to approach. a stopped machine was safer and showed a green indicator to show that it was safe to approach.

then with the advent of computer based instrumentation like the Citect systems I worked on, the programmers were more attuned to traffic light logic and eventually most computer displays showed green as healthy and running and red as faulted or stopped.

so red and green can have totally the opposite meaning in a control system depending on whether the old instrumentation logic is used or the newer traffic lights logic is used.

there are colour blind operators on sites. in one notable instance the introduction of a new updated control system caused monumental problems on the site. it was discovered that about 68% of the workers on the site were colour blind and the errors were because they couldn't work out what the colour symbology was on the new displays.
when the engineer twigged to this he had realised from talking to the guys that they had no mental deficits. the software was suave enough to allow dynamic recolouring of the display logic so he changed all the displays so that the colour sets for the logic could be switched by the operators at the press of a button.