PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Global Aviation Magazine : 60 Years of the Hercules
Old 2nd Jun 2014, 21:52
Landroger

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post GW1 SLF Albert story

Sorry to intrude into the house of Albert, but I do have one, tiny, SLF Hercybird story and some of you, I am sure, were there. I am a CT/MRI scanner engineer based in London and the south east, but because of my experience, I have occasionally been asked (told?) to go to some outlandish places. One of them was Kuwait City, not long after the end of GW1. Because that nice Mr. Saddam had blown up or stolen Kuwait Air, I was instructed by the FCO to fly to Bahrain (via Doha) and report to RAF Muharaq - MAMS office. Wherever that was. I qualified, it seems, because I was British, knew the kit and had never been to Israel!

After an eventfull civilian journey and being driven past a lot of RAF 'Banging Machinery' with a rather used look about them, I was directed to a refrigerator full of non alcoholic drinks by a MAMS Corporal and told to wait for the crew. They - whoever you are - turned up, we trooped on board what I thought was merely a strangely camoflaged C130 and we set off. I never knew that aeroplanes could wuffle, but Albert definitely wuffled out to line up. But when you gave him the beans, he suddenly got all serious and quite anxious to be elsewhere.

The most bizarre smoke break at Jabail (?) Naval Air Station was followed by the second leg and our Loadie briefing that we had five minutes to look out of the portholes before landing. Apart from smoke so thick we could barely see the wing tanks (overload tanks?), I can genuinely say it was a scene from Dante's Inferno, A stunning demonstration of just how spiteful stupid people can be, with oil fires lighting up the daytime darkness for a hundred feet around each one.