PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Landing Climb Limit Weight
View Single Post
Old 3rd May 2014, 10:30
john_tullamarine

Received 97 Likes on 65 Posts
Appears to be some confusion in this thread.

First, I have no specific 777 knowledge so can only talk generics .. however, the thread subject will only differ between Types by virtue of weights in the AFM .. the rules are the same

Second, I would recommend heeding HN39's counsel.

The certification (design) requirements include, amongst the various WAT limits ...

(a) approach climb WAT. Addresses the missed approach starting OEI, gear up, approach flap, etc.

(b) landing climb WAT. Addresses the missed approach starting AEO, gear down, landing flap, etc.

Both of these limits must be observed (ie whichever might be the more restrictive is critical). Note that the required gradients are not the same. As to why the OP's weights differ would require access to the source documentation ...

Looking through the thread, the pertinent concerns appear to be ..

(a) Dispatch performance and Inflight performance usually have different factors

Think, perhaps, in terms that despatch requires full adherence to whatever the rules might be. Inflight we are looking at abnormals and emergencies and the priority is getting the bird back safely. Same approach with MEL. 8che, I think, made a similar observation.

(b) This is to of course help dispatch and fly with the gear locked down for technical reasons etc.

Pertinent MEL point. If you are INTENDING to commence a flight you must observe all the usual rules ergo, if the gear is down, you will need weight penalties to meet those requirements normally related to gear up.

(c) but the landing climb limit weight is also calculated with gear down

.. however, the approach climb is gear up. Therefore, for an INTENTIONAL despatch, the operator will need to meet the OEI approach climb requirement with gear DOWN.

(d) Gear down performance means gear cannot be retracted