PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Am I normal? Statistics needed!
View Single Post
Old 9th Apr 2014, 13:49
mr_rodge

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Am I normal? Statistics needed!

I've heard of pilots being uncomfortable with heights, and it's fair to say I fall firmly into that category. I love flying, the higher the better. I've had a go at aeros and I can't wait to jump out of an aircraft for the first time. On the other hand, I can't go up a ladder outside my house! This, I sort of understand and I realise I'm not alone.

I haven't been on a commercial flight since a year or so before I started learning to fly (2008, began training 2009). Before that I was away on holiday pretty much annually, anywhere from Spain to Hawaii, doing differing amounts of flying on airliners, even through severe turbulence. No issue.

I was recently talking to a family member who has a fear of flying the other day and whilst I didn't admit directly to her, I had a sudden realisation that I was terrified by the thought of going aboard an airliner!

I don't think it's the fact that someone (or something) else is flying it. I don't think it's the fact that everyone is packed like sardines into the cabin. I genuinely think it's the idea of the pressurised cabin and the prospect of little oxygen or pressure immediately outside the aircraft. I also fear a water landing, even though stupidly I can fly a light aircraft to the IoM or over the wash without worrying. In my head a water landing in a PA28 is more survivable than one in a 767.