PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Is there anthing to be gained by using a flight simulator?
Old 16th Mar 2014, 17:55
Big Pistons Forever

Received 134 Likes on 61 Posts
Originally Posted by Heston
Lightning Mate is spot on. I loathe teaching students who have played on flight sims to any degree. They think they know how to fly and they WILL NOT LOOK OUTSIDE. It takes a lot of time (and their money) to sort out the bad habits they've got into.

There is a world of difference between sitting in your bedroom with a toy and using a professional simulator under proper supervision in the way that it was designed to be used.

Anybody that is serious about learning to fly should avoid sims and spend the money on an air experience flight instead.
As an active flight instructor I cringe when I hear a prospective PPL student say "I have lots of MSFS time !"

The problem with flight simmers is exactly as Heston says. The MSFS guys don't look out the window. When I teach Attitudes and Movements I cover all the instruments and the AI and DI don't exist presolo and I have found that the folks with lots of MSFS often take longer to get good at the foundation skills than students with no exposure to a sim.

I think there is also a more fundamental problem. It is not the flight sim that is in itself the problem, it is that the exposure to the flight sim is largely self taught. There is a reason flight schools don't just give you an airplane and then expect you to figure it out yourself, yet that is in effect exactly what you are doing with MSFS.

My experience is that because there was no structured instruction for new students who had a lot of sim time, they had acquired a lot of bad habits. This was exacerbated by the fact that the sim doesn't closely replicate the whole experience of actually flying a live airplane, therefore they had habits that worked in the sim but not in the airplane.