PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Flt. Lt. Sean Cunningham inquest
View Single Post
Old 31st Jan 2014, 22:59
Easy Street

Received 80 Likes on 36 Posts
I'm no expert on the airworthiness saga, but I think I've picked up enough from tuc and Chug over the years to understand that the problems date from the late 80s / early 90s - correct? Therefore, since the Hawk entered service in the 1970s, I presume that a fully-functioning airworthiness organisation scrutinised the design of the ejection seat and found no problems with either the firing handle safety pin or the scissor shackle.

If MB's information regarding overtightening of the scissor shackle bolt was released in the 1990s then it conceivably might have got lost in the by-now-dysfunctional airworthiness organisation, in which case the MoD could rightly be blamed. However MB have not challenged the accusation that they failed to inform the MoD about the issue. To me it seems a bit churlish, in the absence of any evidence whatsoever, to assume that the MoD must have received and failed to act upon the information.

As for the seat handle and safety pin, if its design was approved by the fully-functioning airworthiness organisation of the 1970s, and there were no instances of handles being pulled to a hair trigger position until Sean's accident, then how exactly was anyone supposed to recognise and mitigate the risk? I think we know that a few pilots have inadvertantly pulled the handle a little way and then pushed it back in on various marks of seat; if these instances were never formally reported or acted upon then the failure was not so much in airworthiness funding as it was in aircrew reporting culture. And I think we all know how poor that was in the 1970s / 1980s!How, exactly, would airworthiness process have identified the hazard without an incident report?