PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - ADS-B Mandate – ATCs Responsible for Deaths?
Old 20th Jan 2014, 09:28
underfire

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Quite the conversation. First off, I will caveat by saying I am not a proponent of ADSB, but not for most of the reasoning I see in this thread.

A system is needed to provide location and indentification of aircraft in the airspace. Mostly for ATC, but also for self separation and avoidance.
We have to face it, the airspace, like any other highway, is getting crowded and congested.
Unfortunately, the means and methods of tracking in that airspace, are stressed to the limits, and development around airports has significantly reduced RADAR capability.
Incoming ADSB. Currently, in my opinion, being touted as an intermediate /future step in airspace management, but actually, it is a technologically ancient system. ADSB uses the 800 Mhz system, recently moving ground ops to 1090 Mhz taking some of the load off. (you can see all of the 'commitees' working on the broadcast message)
The ADSB system has the capability, due to bandwidth, to manage 4000 'messages' per second. The message is each signal broadcast, but important, a signal is a single 32 bit message. 32 bits does not include one whole hell of a lot. (ie, a single message string includes aircraft id, but not location) Each broadcast string, per aircraft, to include ID and location, etc, will consist of many message strings.
Depending on the frequency of messages (typical is every 5 seconds) the data from the ac will be broadcast. So, long stry short, each aircraft, depending on the requirements, will be broadcasting multiple strings of data, at 5 second intervals.
It is also important to keep in mind that aircraft are not the only ones using this system and frequency.