PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - airlines who ask pilots to pay to fly !
View Single Post
Old 4th Jan 2014, 13:12
Sprinkles

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Journey man I think you need to be a bit more thorough in what you read. I said very little choice, not no choice. There's a subtle, but big difference.

When I started training the likes of eJ "employed" cadets and bonded them. AFAIK, no up front cost for the type rating was required. Half way through training things changed. Do you blame me personally for "choosing" to pay a portion of my type rating and be bonded with CTC for the remainder? Even though I've since departed.

Here were the other two choices:
Tell em to stick it and wait for another airline to come along and pay for everything. I wanted to believe me! Unfortunately I left my crystal ball with the locals in Matamata!
Go work at Tescos and live off minimum wage.

Now things have changed since I started and cadets starting now should be well versed in the current employment tactics. This should be a huge factor in their decision to pursue this career. Certainly when it comes to budgeting the cost of training. If they do choose to pursue this as a career, who are we to blame them or make them feel guilty by wanting to actually do something they enjoy? Everybody has the right to enjoy their chosen career.

Pilots who did not pay-to-fly are no more responsible than anyone else. After all we're all trying to achieve a common objective. To get the A/C from A-to-B safely, efficiently and be remunerated accordingly. That's why we do this is it not?