PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - airlines who ask pilots to pay to fly !
View Single Post
Old 31st Dec 2013, 06:28
lifeafteraviation

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I notice that you think that it is ok to pay for your basic licences.
I think there's a pretty clear distinction between paying for professional education/ certifications and paying for work experience.

However, when your profession is in great demand (i.e. not enough people interested in it as a career) organizations in need of qualified employees often provide education incentives or pay for your education outright while bonding you for a long term contract. This is just a swing of the pendulum in the other direction.

Still, I think being an airline pilot isn't such a great job that it's worth getting yourself so deeply in debt for. I think with that kind of money on hand anyone is probably better off on starting a lucrative business venture and flying for recreation. Now that I'm an airline pilot I miss flying the small planes.

I think the lure of scheduled airline flying in a transport jet is more of a fantasy than a reality. When you are doing it you wonder...yeah, it's a good job, better than most, but it can get pretty damn tedious after a while. It's sort of like having "two chicks at the same time" Office Space -1999, I don't think you need a million dollars for that although because it sounds like fun and you may be tempted to pay for it. So you see all these cool guys going around with two chicks and you think....I wanna be that guy! It's the same thing with being an airline pilot...maybe that's why we all have so many ex wives. No disrespect to our female colleagues.

Funny how people set the bar to exclude themselves from the "bad" people who have ruined aviation as a career.