PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Police helicopter crashes onto Glasgow pub
Old 3rd Dec 2013, 14:25
SawMan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Much has been said since my first post regards the building. And since then I've seen pics of the machine's removal which widen my understanding of the building. "robdean", I am not an engineer, just a builder, but I have done quite a bit of self-study on calculated strengths of building materials and in failure analysis when they let go. I have much experience in construction and repairing buildings, and I have personally seen many damaged structures but none quite like this. I know what math to do and how to do it regarding strength and failure. It's complex, tedious, and coincides with my experience so I'd rather not go there myself since the investigators are going to do it anyway. All I post here will be based on my experience alone which I can prove through valid calculations if necessary. This is going to be a long post, my apologies for that but it's necessary. If you can't be troubled to read it all, please read the italicized parts.

The pics I saw showed the newest roof used lightweight bar joist construction. The strength of this kind of roof is well known to me, and it alone would not have held the static weight of this machine. "Technet101" notes this. I'll get back to this part later, it's important.