PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Shine Aviation C208 crash
View Single Post
Old 28th Nov 2013, 13:54
porini

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've been using this strip for several years. The planes ALWAYS land & take off from the same direction...(I'm pretty sure) west to east, into the wind! All my staff (who were present) know that as well!! They always taxi to the far west end of the strip, and then turn around, and take off to the east (I have flown so many times on this strip, can not even guess how many times); and its ALWAYS been that way, and never seen a plane take off the direction the Shine pilot took off that day. We ALL thought he would just taxi to the left, turn the plane around, and take off to our right (I was talking on my Sat phone at the time, and not paying much attention, as I thought he was just taxing). I'm not a licensed pilot (but have many, many hours experience flying in bush planes) but as we rushed to the crash site, I said what the *#@&! Why did he take off that way!!?? We were all shocked and could not believe it!

What do you find so funny about this scary, serious crash, in which nice people were injured, and very nearly killed??? What do you find so funny about noticing the wind direction with cigarette smoke????? There were also bush fires/smoke in the area that day, which any good bush pilot could, and should have seen. When the rescue plane came (Flightlink) with the two highly professional pilots, I talked to them. They wanted to know what I observed (although I got the impression from things they said, that they could see the whole entire story already). One Pilot was smoking a cigara, and said to me: "Look, you can see from my smoke which way you are supposed to take off! He took off the WRONG direction!" I said, "I know". Now, that is what a certified Caravan pilot told me. The wind that day was fairly stiff wind (not sure how many knots?), coming from the east., right to left from where we stood.