PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - AS332L2 Ditching off Shetland: 23rd August 2013
Old 25th Aug 2013, 15:46
Admiral Byng

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello, new poster but I've been lurking here for oooh about ten years.

I work in O&G in Aberdeen but I'm a lawyer by training and qualification, grew up in the area and flew gliders at Aboyne when I was younger (some of you on here may well have been my instructors) so I have a reasonable understanding of how things work though I should state that I've never worked offshore and I'm not a pilot so I'm not going to go anywhere near the technical aspects.

I was reading this thread last night and thought that some of the comments regarding offshore workers were rather patronising. Then I saw the posts on Facebook...oh dear.

So far as I can tell, the Super Puma had an excellent reputation until around 2009 and since then it has obviously suffered from a spate of accidents. In my time at Aboyne the most memorable incident was G-TIGK being struck by lightning which was hardly a flaw in the aircraft itself. The posts by some here tend to dismiss the views of the passengers on the basis that they have not taken into account the statistics around hours flown, utilisation rates, differences between AS332/EC225 etc. Obviously these things are important but you have preferred the science of statistics and mathematics over the science of psychology.