PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - AF 447 Thread No. 10
View Single Post
Old 4th Mar 2013, 17:58
PJ2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi Lyman;

Re your observation in Post #816 that, "AoA can be derived, . . ."

Hm, I don't think so. I'm not an aeronautical engineer but how can AoA be "derived"?

Lonewolf_50;

Re, "How do you train someone (Captain Dubois) when the info to train him with doesn't exist? Further that lack of data points, the flight sims can't be soundly programmed to give "what it does when stalled" training."

It is true that approach-to-stall recovery training isn't the same as training to get a transport aircraft out of a stall. However the guidance in FCTMs is clear, that a high descent rate that cannot be arrested indicates that the aircraft is stalled and the AoA must be reduced.

"This leaves any pilot, not just Captain Dubois, lacking a chance to be in a full stall situation in a training scenario. Granted, stall prevention is the general training focus, for good and valid reasons."

While there is little to no actual flight data on aircraft behaviour in a full stall, that does not mean that the simulator is demonstrating entirely and completely unreliable or incorrect behaviour. The degree to which behaviour is or isn't replicated may be more apparent to engineers than to pilots who must recover the airplane. What I'm saying here is, I think an A330 Level D simulator is useful and not irrelevant. Airbus and the BEA must have thought so because they replicated AF447 and in the Final Report even drew graphs in comparison with AF447's flight data.

What was missing in AF447 was the acceptance that the airplane was stalled, and the knowledge and/or comprehension that the wing must be unloaded, the AoA reduced in order to recover, and that for this to occur the only way is to point the nose down.