PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Iberia to Lose 4500 jobs - 25 airframes
View Single Post
Old 4th Mar 2013, 02:09
BlueUpGood

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
In the end Blue Up Good, however unpalatable you found it, the company had to negotiate and settle the dispute with its cabin crew.
Indeed they did, and BA showed tremendous patience waiting for Unite to finally step in and sideline Holley and co so they could start the process.

Sure Mixed Fleet was formed to justify all the angst and cost of the dispute, but apparently career progression is a bit of an illusion there as well these days so I am told.
Lost me there Count.. Are you suggesting Mixed Fleet don't have promotion?! Whoever is telling you doesn't know what they are talking about I'm afraid.

If I was a BA First Officer like you, I would be much more concerned with my own career progression, which in your case is currently stalled by Fat Cat senior Captains earning around £200,000 a year. Of course this is what the dispute at Iberia is all about - excessive pay and getting to market rate.
My career is going just fine thanks Count. Like most pilots I recognise that like it or not, T&C's and remuneration are a down hill slope in this day and age. The key is how steep and how fast, and the key to that is full engagement with the employer to find a mutually beneficial solution. That requires a democratic union that listens to and represents all it's members. As Keith Williams famously said, 'if you're not at the table you will be on the menu'.