PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - How can BEng Graduates become B1 Licensed Maintenance Engineers?
Old 14th Feb 2013, 09:41
pilot9248

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi Phil,
I am also an Aero BEng Student at Liverpool. Before that, I did an apprenticeship and am now an aero engine mechanic with a little bit of work experience and, in total, three years in industry. Included in my apprenticeship was the training course for A1 and A2 licences. Unfortunately, I am still missing one module, because my employer/training organisation didn't do any airframe work and therefore I couldn't satisfy the requirements for practical experience.

I came to my decision to study aerospace engineering when I realised that all my apprenticeship could get me (at that particular company, but I wasn't really interested in MRO, so not too many options after all...) was maybe five interesting years of work, where I could have gained experience working in a specific engine programme (more than one if I was really lucky). After those years, it would just become increasingly dull, up to the point where it's just "same s#!t, different day"... However, that doesn't have to be the case, if your (future) employer appreciates that you're keen on going above and beyond the call of duty, you're eager to learn something every single day and eventually master your craft, rather than just being a mere executor of assigned tasks. Many companies tend to dumb down work, so that they can hire less skilled people and pay them less.