PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - I am want to become an airline pilot (Read me if you're 15 years old)
Old 13th Jan 2013, 19:40
rleungz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am want to become an airline pilot (Read me if you're 15 years old)

Hello, I was an avid reader of this forum since I was a young boy, having the dream of becoming an pilot, a sky god flying to wonderful places with the power of Boeing or an Airbus in my hands. I always dreamt that I will be a pilot or at least in training after I graduated from university...well that was the plan. The plan I made after several steps in my teens. However, I am more mature, older and the dream of becoming an airline pilot are replaced with maybe realistic ones.

Like all boys who see a British Airways pilot walk through hallways of Manchester Airport, dreams start to form. My parents hoping that I would become a doctor, changed because I insisted I was going to become a pilot, like that BA pilot. From then I was obsessed, I even remember telling my Careers Advisor I was going to be an airline pilot. I knew more about how to get into the career then him.

However, my main goal was to become a fighter pilot. I joined air cadets and as soon as I turned 16 years old, I went for pilot selection (OASC). This is when your dreams of flying a RAF hawk through a valley disappear. I basically got told the cliche line 'my eyes did not make the cut'. Horrible I know but at least I could still become an airline pilot.