PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Flight - Should airline pilots have more/better/different upset recovery training?
Old 15th Dec 2012, 17:37
bburks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Upset Prevention and Recovery Training (UPRT) Part One

I have not had the pleasure of reading PPRUNE for a time, but am quite pleased to view this thread. I have been working on Upset and LOC-I issues for the past four years, and prior to that, on simulator fidelity issues. I am currently a line Captain flying 737's, and served about ten years as a Check-Airman. I am happy to see a few posts identifying ICATEE (International Committee for Aviation Training in the Extended Envelope), as I have been working on this committee since the summer of 2009 (a sad irony was that the first day of our first meeting was the day we lost AF 447).

I have greatly benefitted from the previous posts, as it confirms many of the assumptions we have arrived at in ICATEE. By the way, there are many other excellent working groups globally working on Upset and Stall issues (two FAA ARC's, EASA, ICAO, AIAA, SAE, etc.), and there is tremendous consensus between the groups, giving us confidence that we can identify a solution to eliminating or at least reducing LOC-I in the future.