PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Swiss Cheese ASA Style
View Single Post
Old 25th Oct 2012, 03:59
flightfocus

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Not sure how many of you read Ben Sandilands & Plane Talking, but he has shared his view on the Atkins email here:

Air traffic control shambles at Sydney made public in memo | Plane Talking

I am most impressed with a comment made to his blog by someone claiming they used to be an ATC Line Manager. It is a fabulously honest insight into the reality of what is happening within this organisation. I hope that Greg Atkins gets to read it.....

I have reproduced it here without permission but it is published on Plane Talking:

Ben – I used to be an ATC manager, 50 control tower staff in all, and I seem to recall this time of the year was always bad for absenteeism due seasonal flu and the like.

As was the practice at the time, I kept all of my endorsements current. As the day working manager I could fill gaps or even full shifts if necessary. I was if you like a spare controller. The last CEO allowed what are now called ATC Line Managers to keep only a token endorsement which removed at one stroke probably 8 – 10% of the available controllers.

The prime problem though is not that controllers are unable to work but that there is no-one to replace them. Most businesses get by if an employee does not come to work and the employee catches up when he/she returns. ATC is not like that. It is a high stress,24/7 shift working environment where the ATC gets four days off per fortnight. (And only one 2-day break in six will be a weekend) Well everyone else gets 4 days off you say but how many times do non-ATCs get asked to work on their days off? (Always week ends when all their friends are also off)